Sin

yesterdays are more enlightened by accidents of today
an apple at her breast to demonstrate, remonstrate
to make up for it you will,
that timeless sin you all seem to keep blaming me for
pointing your fingers, you
you
guilty without trial
guilty without consent
rape to prove this sin originates in me
and you think you and prove it before
a jury of my peers

I just wanted to meet you for lunch
with those clay potted tables
and wilted tarnished floors
I just wanted to meet you in the middle
come to some sort of compromise
where we both give a little
and you can’t make me feel guilty
for taking what I need

guilty by a jury of my peers
by a jury of one
I find myself guilty of sin
in the first degree

Leave a Reply

